Ya Heard?


Everything’s a BLUR
7 January 2009, 9:03 pm
Filed under: Life | Tags: ,

I, like many others, have astigmatism. According to Wikipedia, it is

An optical system with astigmatism is one where rays that propagate in two perpendicular planes have different foci. If an optical system with astigmatism is used to form an image of a cross, the vertical and horizontal lines will be in sharp focus at two different distances. The term comes from the Greek α- (a-) meaning “without” and στίγμα (stigma), “a mark, spot, puncture”.[1]

To me, it just means everything is a blur when I don’t have my glasses or my contacts on. I seriously can’t see anything unless it’s right infront of my face. I blame peer pressure in second grade to be like my friends and have glasses like they all did.

In December, I was on my last pair of contacts when I lost one in the shower. In a few days I was going to see CSS, which meant I could go and only see the concert with one eye or wear my dorky glasses and see everything. I wore the dorky glasses and it was seriously one of the best concerts ever. I do tend to say that alot though.

Now I’m counting my blessings. The other day when I was trying to clean said glasses they broke. The lens just popped out because the frame broke. It was pretty sad as I’d gotten used to wearing them all day, everyday since I came back home. If this had happened three weeks earlier I would have had to squint my way through a concert and finals. Good timing glasses, good timing. I think my pay for college fund will have to go to my new glasses because my mother doesn’t show any interest in buying me a new pair.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

