Ya Heard?


Notable People on the NME Cool List

32. Lovefoxxx, CSS
[last year: 3]
We were told CSS had “grown up” with second album ‘Donkey’. Thankfully that didn’t stop Lovefoxxx from dressing up in a silver dragon outfit (see below) and generally turning every UK festival into a riot of kaleidoscopic drunken joy. Again.

She definately be higher up. This woman is my hero. I want to be like her when I grow up. Seriously.

28. Miles Kane, The Rascals/The Last Shadow Puppets
[new entry]
Would he have made the list on the strength of The Rascals? Unlikely. But Alex Turner coaxed a songwriting panache from Kane that had hitherto lain dormant. Meanwhile, few rocked a shirt-and-tie with as much flair as the Wirral lad did in 2008.

He’s okay I guess. He’s quite witty I must admit and gets crowds going.

27. Yannis Philippakis, Foals
[last year: 45]
Not even getting arrested in the wake of an ugly fracas with John Lydon in July 2008 could slow the steady ascent of post-punk’s hippest Oxford dropout.

He should be number one. Coolest person I’ve ever met.

23. Jamie Reynolds, Klaxons
[last year: 2]
OK, so he didn’t really do much in 2008, but the uber-hedonist’s wild-eyed determination to have a good time all the time stands as a lesson for us all in these joyless, gloomy times.

Where’s the rest of Klaxons?

20. Dev Hynes, Lightspeed Champion
[last year: 45]
The alt-folk troubadour scraped into the Top 50 last year, but that was before we heard ‘Falling Off The Lavender Bridge’, a debut album whose sun-dappled loveliness ensures an impressive jump of 25 places.

Does this mean I’m cool too? He is my kindred spirit you know … Then again I could never write such beautiful songs.

18. Ed MacFarlane, Friendly Fires
[new entry]
‘Paris’‘ beatific chorus – “Every night we’ll watch the stars/They’ll be out for us” – demonstrates MacFarlane’s ability to underpin his band’s juggernaut beats with a kernel of big-hearted humanity.

Dance moves that only Yannis Philippakis can beat. I’m sad I missed Friendly Fires on Monday.

8. M.I.A.
[last year: 11]
Just when you thought M.I.A. was destined to generate more style mag features than record sales, along came ‘Paper Planes’, an inter-continental radio smash that made M.I.A. properly famous as well as untouchably hip.

AMAZING. KALA is on repeat on my iPod in the mornings. AND her baby bump is adorable.

6. Ladyhawke
[new entry]
Live she’s so shy she can barely look at the audience, yet Pip Brown‘s limitations as a performer are an intrinsic part of her appeal, creating an enthralling disjunction between the euphoria of the music and the punishing self-doubt of its creator.

Her new album’s so good. She’s killing me with her delerium (get it?!?).

4. Alex Turner, Arctic Monkeys/The Last Shadow Puppets
[last year: 6]
Despite the best efforts of girlfriend Alexa Chung, Turner is still cool, with The Last Shadow Puppets proving he can play the role of the debonair Scott Walker-type as well as that of the caustic kitchen-sink poet.

Does this mean she’s trying to make him less cool? I’m confused … but whoever his girlfriend is, this guy has mad skills. I can’t wait for new Arctic Monkeys material. Oh but the Last Shadow Puppets cover of “I Want You (She’s so Heavy)” is unbelievably good.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

